Year in Review

Happy New Year!

We spent the end of 2008/beginning of 2009 in one of my favorite places…the Colwill lake house. At the moment I am sitting on the front porch of the lake house, taking in the beautiful day. I think it must be about 60 degrees, which is just perfect.

Since most of you did not receive Christmas cards, (In fact, if any of you did it was Steve’s doing, not mine.) I thought I would take a moment to review 2008 this way.

When I first started thinking about this, it struck me…what exactly was different about 2008 than any other year. Our time is still pretty much consumed by work and church, and the occasional time to play. But in thinking about it further, there were a lot of things different about 2008.

First of all, Steve has completed his first full year self-employed. He is a photographer for newborns and is doing very well at it, I might add. He told me again last night, how much he is enjoying what he is doing. Check out some of his work at his website. We also still do the occasional wedding together.

Nathan had two firsts this year. He has completed two seasons of soccer and really seems to enjoy it. The latest season was spent on the team Monstars. His coach commented a couple of times that he always has a smile on his face when he is on the field. I’m really hoping that the team stays together for the spring season. The boys seemed to work pretty well together and get along.

Nathan also started Kindergarten this year. This has been quite an adjustment for everyone. He is doing great academically, but is struggling with how to get along in the public school classroom setting. Let’s just say he is trying really hard to do what he should. I am very proud of him, nonetheless.

Steve and I are still active in the praise band at church.Although it is a large commitment of time and energy, we both enjoy being able to serve in this ministry. We are now going on 5 years for our contemporary service and average about 75-80 per week. If you are ever around Garland on a Sunday morning at 11:15, we would love to have you visit. 🙂

As for me, I am still working for Dallas ISD. It has been a really hard year with all that has been going on in our district. I’m hopeful that the new year will bring some stability. I don’t know that it could get much worse.

Despite all that, I still enjoy my job (most days anyway) and the people that I work with. I am the videoconferencing coordinator for the district. I work with 52 schools in integrating videoconferencing into their curriculum. And I have to say, I have a lot of fun doing it. But it can be pretty stressful at times, especially when connections are not going right and I can’t do anything to fix it. Luckily that is not the norm.

In regards to play time, we try to make it a priority to spend some quality time together as a family at least on a semi-regular basis. This year’s trips have included Sea World, a trip to Corpus Christi (in conjunction with a wedding) and 3-4 trips to the lake house.

Well, that about wraps it up for 2008. My hopes for 2009 include a happy and healthy year for you and yours. May God bless you abundantly in the year to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, General

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment